Every region in America has its knife laws by the state which limit the use of such knives under legal permissions. Maintaining sharp and long-term training with these knives is essential if you use them for lawful activities.
Here in this article, we will review all the laws of the Bowie & other knives according to the different states of America.
To find out what legal actions you might be able to take if you use these knives in those particular areas, be sure to read them all the way through.
Knife Laws by State in 2023:
In 2023, nearly all the states of America have made significant changes in their laws regarding using deadly weapons. Bowie knives are banned in some regions and legal in others depending on the users’ motives in requiring them for legal rights.
However, you can also use such knives in these illegal states by hiding them in case; you need reasonable self-defense. For this purpose, you can check out our post-related article on How to Conceal a Bowie Knife? Moreover, read all the steps one by one for accurate outcomes.
Read an interesting article on Can you carry a Bowie Knife with Concealed Carry Permit?
Comprehensive Guide on State-by-State Knife Laws
The United States of America has 50 states, each with unique laws and regulations. Each state has its capital, government, culture, and history. The diversity in state laws allows for different approaches to issues such as gun control, healthcare, and education
We are going to discuss Knife Laws & Regulations of the US in this article, including:
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York
- North Carolina
- North Dakota
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- West Virginia
Let’s read the Laws of each state categorically to understand them fully:
1. Alabama Knife Laws
It is relatively permissive to carry a knife in Alabama without any legal notice by the officials of this state. With some exceptions, knives, including switchblades and Bowie knives, are legal to possess, carry, and own under state law.
As long as a permit is not obtained, carrying a concealed weapon, including a knife, is illegal. It is a Class A misdemeanor to carry a concealed weapon without a permit, punishable by up to one year in jail and a fine of up to $6,000.
Moreover, carrying a deadly weapon, including a knife, is prohibited on school grounds. There is a maximum penalty of 15 years in prison and a minimum penalty of one year and one day in prison for this Class C felony.
2. Alaska Knife Laws
It is relatively permissive to carry knives in Alaska. Knives, including switchblades, gravity, and Bowie knives, can be owned, possessed, and carried under state law. Moreover, this state has no age restriction for carrying such knives.
Unlawfully carrying a concealed weapon, such as a knife, is illegal. An individual who carries a concealed weapon without a permit is guilty of a class A misdemeanor that can result in up to one year in jail and a fine of up to $10,000.
In addition, weapons, including knives, are prohibited on school grounds. There can be a maximum fine of $2,000 and a maximum jail sentence of 90 days for this criminal offense.
3. Arizona Knife Laws
All knives, including the Bowie knives, are legal to carry for self-defense and other tasks in Arizona. Switchblades, gravity knives, and Bowie knives are legal in this state, with some exceptions.
In Arizona, knives can be owned, bought, and sold by anyone over 18. It is illegal for anyone under 18 to purchase a deadly weapon, including a knife, from a licensed or unlicensed dealer.
Knives, however, are not allowed to be carried without a permit. Concealed weapons are punishable in this state by up to six months in jail and up to $2,000 in fines. Weapons, including knives, are prohibited on school grounds & you can quickly get charges of $2500 by taking such weapons there.
4. Arkansas Knife Laws
Like all the other given states, these regions also allow users to carry these Bowie knives. Moreover, other knives are switchblades, and Gravity knives are also legal to carry in this state. However, the legal age to carry such knives is over 18 with legal permissions or licenses.
Nevertheless, carrying a concealed weapon without a permit is illegal. If convicted of carrying a concealed weapon without a permit, you face a fine of up to $2,500 and up to a year in jail.
Likewise, carrying a weapon on school or government property, including a knife, is illegal. In this case, you can be sentenced to up to 6 years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000 for committing this crime. Moreover, you would get stuck on the blacklist of criminals in the state.
5. California Knife Laws
There are more restrictions on knives in California than in other states. State law prohibits the ownership, possession, or carrying of specific knives, such as switchblades and dirks/daggers.
The use of dirks and daggers as concealed weapons is prohibited since they are capable of stabbing or killing. Knives with blades exceeding 2 inches are also illegal to carry concealed. The offenses are misdemeanors punishable by up to one year in county jail and a fine of up to $1000.
There are also specific knife sales regulations in California. Under 18s cannot buy knives with fixed blades longer than 2 inches. If the knife’s blade length exceeds 2 inches, it is illegal to sell it to a minor under 16.
6. Colorado Knife Laws
There are relatively few restrictions on knife possession in Colorado. Switchblades, gravity knives, and Bowie knives are legally owned, possessed, and carried under state law. There are no specific age requirements for buying or selling knives in Colorado.
Knives intended for use as weapons cannot be sold to minors under 18. Nevertheless, carrying a concealed weapon, such as a knife, without a permit is illegal. It is a class 2 misdemeanor to carry a concealed weapon without a permit and can cause 3 months in jail with a $500 charge.
Public buildings and transportation are also prohibited from carrying weapons, including knives. In this case, you could be sentenced to 18 months in prison and a fine of as much as $100,000 for this class 6 felony.
7. Connecticut Knife Laws
Connecticut’s state makes it illegal for the users to carry any of the knives, especially the bowie knives. Furthermore, concealing gravity and switchblade knives can lead to jail time. There is no age restriction to carry such knives, but for a knife license, you must be 16+.
In addition, knives with blades longer than 4 inches are illegal to carry concealed. Class A misdemeanors carry the possibility of a year in jail and a fine of up to $2,000.
Knives with 4 inches or fewer blade lengths can be carried openly on one’s person. On a school or school grounds, it is illegal to carry knives of any length, regardless of their blade length. This crime’s penalty ranges from 5 years in prison to a $5,000 fine.
8. Delaware Knife Laws
As far as Bowie knives are concerned, Delaware has no specific laws. Knives cannot be used to commission a crime, and concealed weapons must be carried legally. However, it would be best if you were 18+ to buy, sell, and carry these licensed knives to certain places.
Knives used in a crime can be used as evidence for assault, robbery, and murder. When a concealed weapon is found without a permit, the person may face assault charges. Such crimes can carry a sentence of a few months to life, depending on their severity.
Moreover, Delaware does not have specific restrictions on the size or length of Bowie knives. Nonetheless, knives with blades longer than 3 inches may be considered deadly weapons and may be regulated differently.
A Bowie knife can be carried or possessed in Florida without a permit. Without a permit, you cannot carry a concealed weapon, and using a weapon is illegal. The users must be 18+ to buy or carry these knives in this state, along with permits and authorized documents.
A person who uses a knife to commit a crime might face charges of assault, robbery, or murder. Unauthorized persons who carry concealed weapons could face charges of concealment. In Florida, carrying a Bowie knife with a specific blade size or length is prohibited.
There are, however, specific laws and regulations that apply to knives that have blades longer than 4 inches. There is no specific age limit for carrying knives in Florida. Students under 18 may be charged with possessing a weapon on school grounds if found with one.
It is also legal in Georgia to carry all knives, including the special Bowie knives. However, the users must be 18+ to buy and get a license for such knives if they want them for self-defense. Using such weapons illegally can charge you fines of up to $1000 and months of jail time.
Bowie’s knives in Georgia are not restricted in size or length, regardless of their blade size. The laws and regulations governing knives with blades over 5 inches may differ if considered deadly weapons.
It is not illegal to carry knives in Georgia at any age, but a person under 18 could face charges for possessing a weapon on school grounds. But, check out these laws annually in case any change can cause numerous problems.
Knives, including Bowie knives, are prohibited in Hawaii under specific laws. Without a permit, it is illegal to carry a concealed weapon unless you are 18+, and using a weapon in a crime is also illegal. A deadly weapon is also prohibited on school grounds.
Charges could include assault, robbery, or even murder if a knife is used to commit a crime. Carrying a concealed weapon without a permit is a felony and could lead to criminal charges. This type of crime can result in fines from $500 to $10,000.
Bowie’s knives in Hawaii are not restricted in the size or length of their blades. Nonetheless, knives with blades over 3 inches may constitute deadly weapons and are therefore governed differently.
It is illegal in Illinois to carry or possess a Bowie knife. Carrying a concealed weapon before you are 18+ is illegal without a permit, and using a weapon to commit a crime is also illegal. Crimes committed with knives may be charged as assaults, robberies, or murders.
Unlawful Use of a Weapon could be charged if a concealed weapon is carried without a permit. The size and length of a Bowie knife are not restricted in Illinois.
However, using knives with blades longer than 3 inches may require different laws and regulations as deadly weapons. It is not illegal in Illinois to carry knives at any age. Those under 18 who are found with weapons on school property could face weapons possession charges.
13. Indiana Knife Laws
In Indiana, it is illegal for users to carry and use most knives, including the Bowie knives. If you use these knives illegally, concealing them without a permit may cause significant problems depending on where you live and what crime you have committed.
It is not prohibited in Indiana to carry a Bowie knife of any particular size or length. If the blade of a knife is longer than 3 inches, the knife may be considered a deadly weapon and therefore regulated differently.
Carrying knives in Indiana is not limited to a particular age. It is possible to be charged with possession of a weapon on school property if a person under 18 is found carrying a weapon on school grounds.
14. Iowa Knife Laws
Bowie’s knives are not explicitly regulated in Iowa. The carrying of concealed weapons without a permit, as well as the use of weapons in committing crimes, is illegal. People under 18 could face weapons possession charges if they are found with a weapon on school grounds.
Depending on the circumstances, using a knife in a crime could result in charges such as assault, robbery, or murder. Carrying weapons without a permit is a crime that can lead to criminal charges.
Iowa has no specific restrictions on Bowie knives as far as blade size or length is concerned. Laws and regulations may differ depending on the length of knives with a blade longer than 5 inches. As for the specific age for carrying knives, there is no age limit for carrying knives in Iowa.
In Kansas, there are also no specific restrictions on carrying these knives. However, concealing or using these knives without legal or proper permits is illegal. Moreover, you can get high charges of up to $1500 and 1 year of jail time if you use these knives illegally.
Kansas does not have any specific size or length restrictions on Bowie knives. However, some laws and regulations may apply to knives with blades over 4 inches.
It is not illegal to carry knives in Kansas at any age. It is possible, however, that a person under 18 could be charged with possessing a weapon if they are found carrying it on school grounds.
Having a Bowie knife is not regulated by Kentucky law. The use of a weapon in the commission of a crime is also illegal without a permit. Knives are used in a crime, often for assault, robbery, and murder, depending on the circumstances, with the severity of the crime determining fines and jail time.
Concealed deadly weapons are offenses that can carry fines or jail time if they are found to be carried without a permit. Blade size or length is not restricted in Kentucky for Bowie knives. Knives over 4 inches are subject to different laws and regulations.
Specifically, Kentucky does not have an age limit for carrying knives. Persons under 18 who carry weapons on school property may face charges of possession of weapons.
Bowie’s knives are not subject to specific laws in Louisiana, but concealing a weapon without a permit is prohibited. A person may be charged with assault, robbery, or murder if the weapon is used to commission a crime, and fines or jail time may be imposed depending on the crime’s severity.
Louisiana does not impose a specific blade size limit on Bowie knives. Still, it is illegal to carry a concealed weapon without a permit, and it is illegal to carry a weapon on school grounds if you are under 18.
However, if you use these knives illegally to attack someone, you’ll have to face serious charges ranging from about $2000 and jail time, depending on your crime.
18. Maine Knife Laws
As far as possessing or carrying Bowie knives is concerned, Maine has no specific laws regarding this. Possessing weapons on school property, their use in the commission of a crime, or their carriage without a permit is illegal.
Moreover, the severity of the crime would determine whether a person would serve jail time or fines if convicted of using a knife in the commission of a crime, such as assault, robbery, or murder.
Bowie’s knives in Maine may have any size or length as long as they are not too large or too small. There is an 18-year-old minimum age for purchasing knives in Maine. Any person under 18 cannot buy or sell a knife, and it is illegal to sell a knife to a person under 18.
No specific laws govern the possession or carrying of Bowie knives or other knives in Maryland. It is illegal to carry concealed weapons without a permit, and it is also illegal to use weapons for criminal purposes.
The severity of the crime would determine the fines or jail time for a person found to be using a knife in the commission of a crime. Maryland does not restrict the size or length of a Bowie knife or other knives.
The possession or carrying of any dangerous weapon on school property is illegal for anyone under the age of 21. Knives can only be purchased by people 18 or older in Maryland. A knife cannot be bought by anyone under 18 or sold to anyone under the same age.
It is illegal for individuals to possess and carry Bowie and other knives in Massachusetts. Weapons, including knives intended to be used as weapons, whether concealed or not, are illegal to carry. School grounds are also prohibited from carrying dangerous weapons.
Fines, jail time, and other penalties for possessing a dangerous weapon can be imposed. Carrying knives in public places with a blade size or length of 2.5 inches is legal. Massachusetts also prohibits carrying knives with double-edged blades.
Massachusetts requires an 18-year-old to purchase knives. Knives can’t be purchased or sold by anyone under 18, and it’s illegal to sell a knife to someone under 18.
The possession and carrying of a Bowie knife or any other knife in Michigan are not specifically regulated by law, but laws may apply in certain circumstances. Illegal to carry dangerous weapons for use as weapons, for example.
School property is also off-limits to weapons and knives over 3 inches long unless engaged in lawful hunting or fishing. However, the blade size is limited to three inches for knives carried in public places. Buying or owning a knife is legal for anyone over 18.
Knives are illegal for anyone under the age of 18, and it’s also illegal for anyone under the age of 18 to sell knives. In some cases, fines and jail time may be the punishment for breaking these laws, depending on the nature of the offense.
22. Minnesota Knife Laws
Minnesota’s law does not specifically regulate carrying or possessing Bowie knives. Whether the weapon is concealed or not, carrying a dangerous weapon, such as a knife, is illegal to use it as a weapon.
School grounds are also prohibited from carrying dangerous weapons. Being fined, imprisoned, and punished for possessing a dangerous weapon is possible. It is not illegal to carry knives in public places in Minnesota, regardless of their length or size.
A knife can be purchased or owned by anyone over 18. No one under 18 is allowed to purchase or sell knives. Minnesota does not allow the possession or sale of some knives, including switchblades and gravity knives. You can get fined, jailed, or both for violating these laws.
23. Mississippi Knife Laws
It is not specifically regulated by law that Bowie and other knives may be owned and carried in Mississippi. Whether the weapon is concealed or not, carrying a weapon with the intent to use it unlawfully against another person is illegal.
A crime of Aggravated Assault is committed here. Weapons are also prohibited on school grounds. Moreover, knives cannot have a specific blade size or length in Mississippi. If the knife is not considered a “dangerous weapon” under the law, it is legal for anyone over 18 to purchase or own it.
Selling knives to people under 18 is illegal, as is buying knives for them. Penalties include fines and jail time for violating these laws. So, read the annual changes before using these knives for any activity.
It is relatively easy to own, carry, or sell knives in Missouri, where knife laws are relatively permissive. Laws do not specifically regulate Bowie’s knives or other knives. A concealed carry permit is required for carrying concealed weapons, including knives.
School grounds are also prohibited from carrying weapons. However, It is not illegal in Missouri to carry knives in public places, regardless of their blade size or length. A blade can be purchased or owned by anyone over 18 unless it is defined as a “dangerous weapon.”
Knives are illegal for anyone under 18 and can be sold to people under 18. Furthermore, Penalties include fines and jail time for violating these laws. So, follow all the rules and regulations before using these knives for any proper action.
25. Montana Knife Laws
Montana’s law does not specifically regulate the possession and carrying of Bowie knives. In most places, including schools and courthouses, carrying a knife, including Bowie knives, is legal.
The intent to use a weapon against another person, whether concealed or not, is illegal regardless of whether it is concealed. This is a case of aggravated assault, a crime that has been committed.
In Montana, knives of any size or length are allowed in public places. If a knife is not deemed a “dangerous weapon” under the law, it can be purchased or owned by anyone over 18. The sale of knives to anyone under 18 is illegal, as well as the purchase of knives by anyone under 18.
You will violate the law if you do not have a concealed weapon permit in Nebraska. Over 3.5-inch knives fall into this category. When intoxicated, on drugs, or committing a crime, it is illegal to carry a weapon.
Punishment for violating Nebraska weapon laws can vary depending on the crime’s circumstances and the judge’s discretion. Penalties can include fines and imprisonment for people who commit these crimes.
You can get more detailed information on Nebraska’s weapon law fines and punishments by contacting the state’s attorney general.
Knives with blade lengths less than 2 inches are legal in Nevada, openly or concealed. However, concealing knives with blade lengths over 2 inches requires a permit. School grounds, court buildings, and prisons are prohibited from carrying knives of any length.
In addition, it is illegal to brandish, use or threaten to use a knife in a way that is likely to cause fear or harm. A judge’s discretion and the specific circumstances of the crime can determine the punishment for violating Nevada’s weapon laws.
Penalties may include fines, imprisonment, and community service. Misdemeanors in Nevada can result in fines of up to $1000 and jail terms of up to 6 months for carrying a concealed weapon without a permit.
Unless you have a permit, you can carry a knife, including a bowie knife, openly or concealed in New Hampshire. Using a knife to commit a crime, however, is illegal. On school grounds, weapons, including knives, are also prohibited.
In New Hampshire, criminal threatening is a Class B felony if someone is threatened with a knife. Judges’ discretion and the specific circumstances of the crime can determine punishments for violating New Hampshire weapon laws.
As far as criminal threats are concerned, they can be punished with fines or imprisonment. The maximum period of imprisonment for criminal threats is 3.5 years and a heavy fine of about $5000.
There is no legal justification for carrying a knife longer than 5 inches in New Jersey, including a bowie knife, unless you are self-defending or hunting. Carrying a knife is also prohibited in schools, courthouses, and state parks.
A knife or any other weapon must not be used, threatened to be used, or possessed with the intent to harm another person. Laws punish this type of behavior as a criminal offense. New Jersey judges are allowed to impose different punishments based on the specific circumstances of the crime.
In addition to fines and imprisonment, community service may be imposed as punishment. Possessing a weapon for an unlawful purpose is considered a second-degree crime punishable by 5–10 years in prison.
Whether a knife is concealed or openly carried in New Mexico is legal. School grounds and government buildings are prohibited from carrying weapons, and knives should not be used for criminal purposes or with the intent to commit crimes.
New Mexico judges can punish individuals who violate weapon laws based on their circumstances. In addition to fines and imprisonment, penalties can also include prison terms.
Carrying a weapon on school grounds is a misdemeanor, with a maximum fine of $1000 and a maximum jail term of 364 days. An offense punishable by imprisonment is using a weapon to commit a crime.
31. New York Knife Laws
In New York, concealed weapons, including knives with blade lengths of four inches or more, must be carried with a permit. School grounds, court buildings, and state parks are prohibited from carrying weapons.
Using knives or other weapons to threaten or harm another person is illegal. The law punishes this offense as a criminal offense. Judges’ discretion and the specific circumstances of the crime can determine the punishment for weapons violations in New York.
A fine, imprisonment, or community service is possible. A weapon belonging to an unlawful person is considered a Class D Felony punishable by 2–7 years in prison.
32. North Carolina Knife Laws
No permit is required to carry knives in North Carolina, including bowie knives. The carrying of knives on school grounds, in state government buildings, and at public demonstrations is prohibited, as are knives used in committing crimes.
Judges can determine the punishment for violating weapon laws in North Carolina. You can receive fines, jail time, and community service.
It is a Class 1 misdemeanor to carry a weapon on school grounds, punishable by up to a $1000 fine or 120 days in jail. A weapon used in a crime is punishable by imprisonment as a felony.
33. North Dakota Knife Laws
Whether carried openly or concealed, knives, including bowie knives, are legal in North Dakota. Weapons are prohibited on school grounds, state government buildings, or public demonstrations. Using a knife in the commission of a crime is also illegal.
A judge’s discretion can determine the punishment for violating weapon laws in North Dakota. You may be sentenced to fines, prison time, or community service. Class B misdemeanors can be punished with a fine of up to $1000 or up to 30 days in jail.
It is a felony to use a weapon in committing a crime. Moreover, we’ll also advise checking the changing rules annually. So, you face no significant issues in carrying these unique knives.
34. Ohio Knife Laws
Nearly all types of knives, along with gravity, butterfly, and bowie knives, are legal in Ohio. However, getting a license from the authorities is essential to use these excellent and versatile knives.
Moreover, using these knives illegally can create plenty f problems for you, including fines from $1000 to $1200. Using such knives in government regions by attacking someone can cause life imprisonment and other charges.
Ultimately, we recommend checking the rules and regulations every month in case they are changed. This will prevent you from all issues like carrying an illegal weapon.
35. Oklahoma Knife Laws
Oklahoma has no ban or restriction on using multiple types of knives. However, concealing these knives in certain places is illegal, and it can cause numerous problems.
Moreover, you can also not use machetes and other related knife types for any knife activity. You can quickly get permits for daggers, switchblades, and Bowie knives.
Carrying these knives in illegal places and using them for improper purposes can cause charges of about $100 to $250 and a jail time of around 1 month.
36. Oregon Knife Laws
At first, Oregon state banned the use of all knives and all other deadly weapons. However, in 2016, they changed their rule and allowed users to carry and use knives, such as daggers, machetes, switchblades, and even bowie knives.
But, still, there are numerous restrictions on using these knife products in the government and federal regions. For instance, misusing these knives can get charges up to $500 and days in jail.
In the end, get a permanent license for such knives from the authorized and use them for your safety. This permit will be the same for all of your different versatile knives.
37. Pennsylvania Knife Laws
Another American state on this list, Pennsylvania, also supports the users carrying all these knives. From switchblades to Gravity knives, this state prevents the users from taking these knives in any federal and restricted region for the safety of people.
However, it gives free permits to people living in rural areas to keep themselves from all predators. Moreover, the officials can also take quick and sudden actions against the people who misuse these knives and violate the state’s rules.
In this case, it is essential to learn that by violating the rules of this state, you have to pay charges of around $200 and can even spend a week or two in jail. So, make sure to keep these knives to yourselves without wounding anyone.
38. Rhode Island Knife Laws
Rhode Island is another critical state in America that allows users to carry and display their multiple knives. From gravity to butterfly and bowie knives, all of them are legal and licensed for use.
Nevertheless, concealing such knives in different places without any license is illegal. But, you can only carry knives with a limited blade size of 3 inches or fewer.
If you violate the rules and regulations given by the authorities, you can easily face charges of more than $1000 to $3000. Moreover, it also includes jail time of more than 1 month and numerous other charges.
39. South Carolina Knife Laws
Schools and government buildings are among the public places in South Carolina where knives longer than three inches are prohibited. Knives that are intended for use as weapons are also illegal to carry. Penalties and jail time are possible penalties for violating these laws.
You are considered guilty of a felony if you carry a knife while possessing illegal drugs. Moreover, An enhanced penalty may be imposed when a weapon is carried during the commission of a crime.
The sale and distribution of knives to those under 18 are also illegal. So, get a notice from the legal authorities and then purchase such knives from the best place you know.
40. South Dakota Knife Laws
Most South Dakotans are legally allowed to carry knives, including bowie knives. However, carrying concealed weapons, including knives, without a permit is illegal.
School grounds and school-sponsored events are also prohibited from carrying weapons, such as knives, and doing so can result in a felony charge.
Knives may also be used as weapons in the commission of crimes, with enhanced penalties for the crimes involved.
Knives cannot also be sold or distributed to people under 18. So, if you’re 18+, it is pretty easy for you to purchase such knives from all nearby places around you in legal ways.
41. Tennessee Knife Laws
Knives, including bowie knives, are legal in Tennessee in most places. Unpermitted carrying of concealed weapons, including knives, is illegal. School-sponsored events or on school grounds are also prohibited with weapons, including knives.
If caught, a felony charge can ensue. Knives with blades over 4 inches are punishable as Class C misdemeanors under Tennessee law. In addition, using a knife as a weapon can result in enhanced penalties for the underlying crime.
Anyone under 18 cannot sell or distribute knives. People should know that certain places, including government buildings, courts, airports, and other designated areas, have stricter knife laws.
42. Texas Knife Laws
Like all other states, Texas prohibits carrying knives with blades longer than 5.5 inches in public. An alcohol-related business cannot own or operate a knife with a blade over 5.5 inches.
Without a license, you cannot carry concealed weapons, including knives. School-sponsored events are also prohibited for carrying weapons, including knives, which can result in felony charges.
If a knife is used as a weapon to commit a crime, the penalties can be enhanced, and knives should not be sold or distributed to minors. So, if are 18+, you can easily buy and use these special knives.
43. Utah Knife Laws
Knives, including bowie knives, are legal in Utah in most places, but concealed weapons, including knives, are illegal. School-sponsored events, as well as on school grounds, are prohibited from carrying weapons, including knives. Criminal charges may result.
Moreover, knives can be used as weapons to commit crimes, resulting in enhanced penalties. The sale or distribution of knives to people under 18 is also illegal.
Some places have stricter knife laws, such as government buildings, courthouses, airports, and other designated areas. Individuals need to be aware of these laws.
44. Vermont Knife Laws
Knives, including bowie knives, are legal to carry in most places in Vermont. However, concealed weapons, including knives, require a permit. School grounds or events sponsored by schools are prohibited from carrying weapons, including knives, which can result in felony charges.
Also, knives cannot be used as weapons, resulting in enhanced punishments for the underlying crime. Furthermore, knives cannot be sold or distributed to anyone under 18.
We would recommend that you ensure that these fantastic knives are permitted. So you don’t have to face significant problems using them for multiple tasks or activities.
45. Virginia Knife Laws
In most places in Virginia, knives, including bowie knives, are legal. Carrying concealed weapons, including knives, is illegal without a permit. School grounds and school-sponsored events are prohibited from carrying weapons, including knives.
Furthermore, using a knife to commit a crime is illegal and can result in enhanced penalties for the underlying offense. Anyone under the age of 18 is prohibited from buying or selling knives.
Individuals should be aware of the stricter knife laws in certain places, such as government buildings, courthouses, airports, and other designated areas.
46. Washington Knife Laws
In most places in Washington state, it is legal for people to carry knives, including a bowie knife, on their person. A concealed weapon, including a knife, may be carried without a permit. However, it is illegal to do so without a permit.
School grounds or school-sponsored events are also prohibited from carrying weapons, including knives, and such conduct can result in felony charges. As a result, if a knife is used as a weapon to commit a crime, the penalties for the underlying crime may be enhanced.
Anyone under the age of 18 cannot purchase knives or distribute them. Selling or buying from an underage person may cause numerous issues for you. So, make sure to purchase these knives from authorized communities.
47. West Virginia Knife Laws
Knives, including bowie knives, are legal in West Virginia, but concealed weapons, including knives, require a permit. School-sponsored events, such as sporting events, can result in felony charges if you carry a weapon.
Knives may also be used as weapons, resulting in enhanced penalties for the crime for that they are used. Knives must also be sold or distributed to individuals under 18 years old.
The laws regarding knives are stricter in certain areas, such as government buildings, courthouses, airports, and other designated places. Moreover, you must ensure you buy these knives from a safe and legal place.
48. Wisconsin Knife Laws
In Wisconsin state, the knife laws are pretty confusing. However, they have banned all illegal weapons which can not be carried or used in several places. But, the Bowie knives and switchblades are not illegal and can easily be carried around in this state.
It would be perfect to have a particular permit to carry such knives to numerous places. But, it is still illegal to conceal these licensed knives in all government and federal areas.
The age limit for knife users in this state is about 18 years, and the users must have this license and proper training. Moreover, if you violate any of the given knife laws in this state, you’ll have certain heavy charges and imprisonment for more than 2 weeks.
49. Wyoming Knife Laws
Wyoming is another famous state in America with some ridiculous knife rules and regulations. In this state, carrying any weapon that can be used for specific reasons is illegal.
Moreover, several animals and other utensils that can even produce cuts are also banned in this state. Therefore, defending yourself from significant animal or other attacks is pretty challenging.
However, if you violate these knife laws and use them for other illegal tasks and activities, you can easily face severe charges like fines of $1000-$2000 and jail time of more than 20 days.
50. Idaho Knife Laws
Last but not least, it is illegal in Idaho to carry any knife with a blade length of 4 inches. Using a knife for household activities with a blade length of more than 4 inches is considered an illegal weapon for all tasks.
As for the punishment, It is a misdemeanor to carry a concealed knife with a blade length of more than 4 inches and is punishable by up to 6 months in jail or a fine of up to $1,000.
Moreover, carrying a knife on school grounds or at a school-sponsored event is also a misdemeanor and is punishable by up to 6 months in jail or a fine of up to $1,000. So, read all the rules and regulations for carrying these amazing knives before using them for any activity.
FAQs related to Knife Laws by State:
According to knife laws by states, Folding blade knives can be carried by citizens, while fixed-blade knives like daggers must be worn in a sheath and openly carried. Knives disguised as other objects are not allowed, and automatic knives over 2 inches are prohibited in public places, including vehicles.
Using a pocket knife in self-defense is legal if the action is reasonable. California’s law allows using force to protect oneself or others if the victim believes they are in danger of harm and force is necessary to prevent it.
Knife blades must not exceed 5.5 inches, and specific knives like switchblades, spring-loaded knives, swords, spears, and daggers are illegal.
This article discusses the Knife laws by state – Bowie knife & all other knives. We started by explaining the legal rules and regulations in certain states where these bowie and other knives are legal.
However, carrying these specials around illegal states and violating the rules of using such knives can lead you to multiple problems. For instance, it might cost you to pay hefty charges from $100 to $5000 depending on how you have used these knives.
Moreover, in case of any significant damage to the users and other numerous violations, you can quickly get imprisonment of 1 week to 1 year. So, read all about the annual changes the government authorities have made before carrying or concealing these weapons in certain places.
We hope you found this helpful information. Please share your thoughts on this article in the comments section below.